205

MINUTES OF A

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE ARUN DISTRICT COUNCIL HELD IN THE ARUN CIVIC CENTRE ON 13 NOVEMBER 2019 AT 6.00 PM

Present:

Councillors Mrs Warr (Chairman), Mrs Worne (Vice-Chairman), Batley, Bennett, Bicknell, B Blanchard-Cooper, C Blanchard-Cooper, Bower, Brooks, Buckland, Mrs Caffyn, Mrs Catterson, Chapman, Charles, Clayden, Mrs Cooper, Cooper, Coster, Dendle, Dixon, Edwards, Elkins, English, Mrs Erskine, Mrs Gregory, Goodheart, Gunner, Mrs Hamilton, Mrs Haywood, Hughes, Huntley, Jones, Kelly, Lury, Mrs Madeley, Northeast, Oliver-Redgate, Oppler, Mrs Pendleton, Purchese, Miss Rhodes, Roberts, Miss Seex, Smith, Mrs Stainton, Mrs Staniforth, Stanley, Tilbrook, Ms Thurston, Dr Walsh and Mrs Yeates.

Honorary Alderman Mrs Stinchcombe was also present at the meeting.

280. WELCOME

The Chairman welcomed Councillors, Honorary Alderman Mrs Stinchcombe, special guests and members of the public and press to this Special Council Meeting.

281. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Mrs Daniells and Miss Needs and from Honorary Aldermen Mrs Goad, MBE, Mrs Morrish and Squires.

282. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

Councillor C Blanchard-Cooper declared a Personal Interest in Agenda Item 3 [Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman] as a Member of Littlehampton Town Council].

A Declaration of Interest Sheet had been circulated to the meeting setting out those Members who had made a declaration of their personal interest as a Member of a Town or Parish Councillor or a West Sussex County Councillor, as confirmed in their Register of Interest as these declarations could apply to any of the issues to be discussed at the meeting. This table is set out below:

206

Full Council - 13.11.19

Name	Town or Parish Council or West Sussex County Council [WSCC]
Councillor Tracey Baker	Littlehampton
Councillor Kenton Batley	Bognor Regis
Councillor Jamie Bennett	Rustington
Councillor Paul Bicknell	Angmering
Councillor Billy Blanchard-Cooper	Littlehampton
Councillor Jim Brooks	Bognor Regis
Councillor Ian Buckland	Littlehampton and WSCC
Councillor Mike Clayden	Rustington
Councillor Andy Cooper	Rustington
Councillor Alison Cooper	Rustington
Councillor David Edwards	WSCC
Councillor Roger Elkins	Ferring and WSCC
Councillor Paul English	Felpham
Councillor Inna Erskine	Bognor Regis
Councillor Steve Goodheart	Bognor Regis
Councillor Pauline Gregory	Rustington
Councillor June Hamilton	Pagham
Councillor Shirley Haywood	Middleton-on-Sea
Councillor David Huntley	Pagham
Councillor Henry Jones	Bognor Regis
Councillor Martin Lury	Bersted
Councillor Francis Oppler	WSCC
Councillor Jacky Pendleton	Middleton-on-Sea and WSCC
Councillor Vicky Rhodes	Littlehampton
Councillor Dan Purchese	WSCC
Councillor Emily Seex	Littlehampton
Councillor Martin Smith	Aldwick
Councillor Samantha Staniforth	Bognor Regis
Councillor Matt Stanley	Bognor Regis
Councillor Isabel Thurston	Barnham & Eastergate
Councillor James Walsh	Littlehampton and WSCC
Councillor Jeanette Warr	Bognor Regis
Councillor Amanda Worne	Yapton
Councillor Gillian Yeates	Bersted

Full Council - 13.11.19

283. CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Council

RESOLVED

That in pursuance of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Norman Dingemans who has, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to this Council as a past Member of this Council.

A commemorative certificate and Honorary Alderman's Jewel were then presented to Mr Dingemans by the Chairman.

(The meeting concluded at 6.20 pm)